

ASIA & OCEANIA FEDERATION OF OBSTETRICS & GYNAECOLOGY

23rd November 2020

Dr. Alpesh Gandhi President-FOGSI India

Dear Dr. Alpesh Gandhi,

SHAN S RATNAM YOUNG GYNAECOLOGIST AWARD (YGA) AOFOG CONGRESS 2022, BALI, INDONESIA (MAY 23RD-26TH)

One of the more satisfying activities of the Federation has been the YGA initiated in 1991 through the generous support of the National Societies, Foundations and industry. Initially, the award was restricted to 8 countries but following the Bangalore General Assembly in 2002, the award is now open to all 28 member countries but only those coming from 20 member countries, will be funded by the Federation. <u>Please note that member countries in subscription arrears for more than 3 years are not eligible</u>.

The Federation has been able to award about 35-40 positions for each Congress. It is hoped that this award will provide the opportunity to young and committed members of National Societies to attend the Congress, interact with peers and Officers of the Federation and involve themselves in future activities of the Federation.

The YGAs are required to present their papers either in the special YGA Session or as a Free Communication. The10 YGAs selected to present during the special YGA Session will be judged by a panel and the Executive Board is pleased announce that the top 3 winners will receive USD3000 (Prof Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran Prize), USD2000 and USD1000 respectively which will be presented during the Congress Banquet.

All YGAs are also required to attend the Opening Ceremony, Closing Ceremony, General Assembly, President's Night and Congress Banquet. <u>Please refer to the AOFOG website (aofog.net) under Admin Manual pages 37-42 for details on Eligibility, Selection Criteria and YGA activities during the AOFOG Congress.</u>

AOFOG 2022 will be held as a Hybrid conference. So depending on the situation at the time of the congress the YGA could participate in person or through the web. We would encourage the YGAs to participate in person if it is safe and travel restrictions are lifted.

The Federation hereby invites your National Society to submit 2-3 nominations for this award. The nominations must be accompanied by the full paper (in a CD and a printed copy in a 81/2 x 11 bond paper, Times New Roman font size 12) with a CV and a cover letter from the Principal / Presenting author stating any sources of funding, conflict of interest and that the paper has not been previously presented or published in any Regional or International Meeting.

Some of those who applied for AOFOG 2021 may exceed the age limit by 2022. To be fair and to enable these candidates to reapply for 2022, we have extended the age limit to 41.

Please note that the closing date for nominations is 23rd November 2021

The Organising Committee of the AOFOG Congress 2022 is also offering a Community Fellowship Programme (CFP). Please refer to the AOFOG website under Admin Manual page 42 which gives an overall outline of the Programme. The Programme details will be circulated in due course. Please indicate which of your nominated YGAs are able to participate in the CFP. In general, only one (1) YGA will be selected from each eligible National Society but more may be offered depending on the Host Society. Although we are making arrangements for the CFP, the exact nature of the programme will depend on the covid19 situation at the time of the Congress.

Yours sincerely

ar

Dr Rohana Haththotuwa Secretary General-AOFOG

^{*}Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Macau, Pakistan, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Laos & Vietnam

Cc: 1. Secretary NS

- 2. Council Representative NS
- 3. Prof Kazunori Ochiai, President AOFOG
- 4. Prof. Pisake Lumbiganon, President Elect AOFOG / Officer-in -charge YGA

THE SECRETARIAT ASIA & OCEANIA FEDERATION OF OBSTETRICS & GYNAECOLOGY (GUARANTEE) LIMITED (GL2459) Sri Lanka College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. Address: No 112, Model Farm Road. Colombo. 08. Sri Lanka. Tel: +94 11 2 671209 email: secretariat@aofog.net WEBSITE: http://www.aofog.net

Executive Board

President: Professor Kazunori Ochiai Japan

Vice-President: Dr John Tait New Zealand

Immediate Past President: Dr. Ravi Chandran Malaysia

President Elect: Professor Pisake Lumbiganon Thailand

Secretary-General Dr. Rohana Haththotuwa Sri Lanka

Deputy Secretary-General Dr. Jaydeep Tank India

Treasurer Professor Tsung-Hsien Su Taiwan

Editor-in-Chief, JOGR Professor Kiyoko Kato Japan

Council Representative Professor Joong Shin Park Korea

Committee Chairs

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery Professor Tsukasa Baba (Japan)

Maternal & Fetal Medicine Dr. U.D.P. Ratnasiri (Sri Lanka)

Oncology Professor Sarikapan Wilailak (Thailand)

Sexual & Reproductive Health Professor. Krishnendu Gupta (India)

Reproductive Endocrinology Dr. Raymond Li (Hong Kong)

Ultrasound Dr. Nelinda Catherine Pangilinan (Philippines)

Urogynaecology Dr. Mou-Jong Sun (Taiwan)

Fellowship Selection Dr. Rohit Bhatt (India)